Providing competitive summer baseball for college players who live in Connecticut or Western Mass

My my My my
HEADLINES  Subscribe to Connecticut Collegiate Baseball League RSS news feed.
2022 CCBL All League Selections
2022 CCBL All League Selections             1st...
2022 CCBL Champions - the Hamden Miners
Hamden sweeps Wallingford to win its first 2022 CCBL Title
On Saturday, July 30, the Hamden Miners defeated the Wallingford...
CCBL Champions 2009 - 2022
Click on Documents at left and select the CCBL Champions doc to...
2022 CCBL All League Selections
2022 CCBL All League Selections
1st Team 2nd Team
Position Name Team Position Name Team
1B Hank Bielen Hamden 1B Matt Goehrig W. Haven
2B John Brucato Wall 2B Tyler Jones W. Haven
SS Jake Boucher Wall SS Matt Solomon W. Haven
3B Jack Marshall Gbury 3B Jayden Fowler Manc
5th INF Tanner Santos Hamden 5th INF Mike Barrett WMASS
OF Matt Smith Wall OF Christain Boudreau Sims
OF Jake Pisano Hamden OF Phoenix Billings W. Haven
OF Jack McManus South OF Dylan Judd Gbury
OF Mason Balmer Hamden OF Jackson Cardoza South
P Peter Gianquinto Hamden P Ryan Robb Gbury
P Alex Erskine Wall P Will Fox Sims
P Garrett Fusco Sims P Trey Rivera Hamden
P MacGuire O'Sullivan W. Haven P Matt Lauria Manc
P Jaden Canelli Wall P Joey Sangiuolo Brass City
P Eddie Zanor W. Haven P Aiden Ricciardelli W. Haven
CAT. Hunter Domdal Manc CAT. Jack Clancy Wall
UTIL JW Wilson Sims UTIL. Matt Bucciero Brass City
Player of Year Jake Pisano Hamden      
Off. POTY Jake Pisano Hamden      
CO-Pit. OTY Peter Gianquinto Hamden      
CO-Pit. OTY Alex Erskine Wall      
Honorable Mention      
P Ryan Henderson South      
UTIL Christian Homa Brass City      
OF Juan Abreu Sims      
UTIL Dan Bucciero Brass City      
P Keegan Daigle Brass City      
OF Jake Chacho W. Haven      
UTIL Tyler Rice    South      
C Kam Hartenstein South      

by posted 10/22/2022
2022 CCBL Champions - the Hamden Miners

by posted 08/03/2022
Hamden sweeps Wallingford to win its first 2022 CCBL Title

On Saturday, July 30, the Hamden Miners defeated the Wallingford Silver Storm twice to win the 2022 CCBL title:

Game 1 Summary

Hamden’s Mike Gajda (Post Univ.) hit a solo HR to open the scoring for the Miners. Later, Tanner Santos (Babson) scored on Jake Pisano's (SCSU) double, which made it 2-0 Hamden in the top of the 3rd.

Wallingford got its only run in the seventh, as Derek Angell (Salem St.) led off the bottom of the inning with a walk, followed by a Luke DiMauro (Springfield) single.  Then, Johnny Brucato (St. Vincent’s) singled home Angell for the sole Silver Storm run.  The game ended on a game saving catch by Hamden CF Mason Balmer (ECSU).

Hamden starting pitcher Tre Rivera (Franklin Pierce) got the win; he threw 6.1 innings, allowed 1 earned run, 2 hits and 5 walks and struck out 10.

Pete Gianquinto (Johnson & Wales) picked up the save, getting the last two outs in the 7th with men on second and third.   

Wallingford’s Alec Erskine (SCSU) pitched 6 innings and gave up 3 hits, 1 earned run while striking out 7.

Game 2 Summary

Hamden started the scoring in the bottom of the 1st inning. Tanner Santos singled and stole 2ndHank Bielen  (Delaware) singled home Santos, giving the Miners a 1-0 lead.  

In the top of the 2nd  inning,  Wallingford's Matt Costello (Post Univ.) singled home Jack Clancy (CCSU), making it 1-1.  In the bottom of the 2nd inning, Chris Scanlon (Merrimack) doubled and Mike Gajda followed with an RBI single for a 2-1 Hamden lead.

In the top of  the 3rd, Johnny Brucato led off  with a single, and with one out, Josh McDonald (St. Rose) hit a 2 run home run to give Wallingford a 3-2 lead.

In the Miners' 5th inning, Paul Vilecco (WNEU) led off with a bunt single and Jake Pisano walked, followed by Hank Bielen’s single. With the bases loaded, Mason Balmer singled, which scored Vilecco.  With the score tied 3 - 3, Hunter Keller (Post Univ.) singled and drove in 2 runs before Tanner Santos struck again with a 2 run single. Hamden led 7-3 and the Miners would not surrender the lead, as the final score was 9-6.

Hamden's winning pitcher Pete Gianquinto pitched 5 innings and allowed 3 earned runs. Henry Rondon (Elms) pitched 2 clean innings of relief for the Miners to get the save. Wallingford’s starter Steve Phillips (SCSU) pitched 4.1 innings and allowed 9 hits and 4 earned runs.

by posted 08/01/2022
CCBL Champions 2009 - 2022

Click on Documents at left and select the CCBL Champions doc to view the list of CCBL Champions from 2009 through 2022.

by posted 04/26/2022
Upcoming Games
Recent Results
Calendar is loading...
Loading Weather...